Members Siang Xi – Keyboards, Piano

Eizaz Azhar – Electric Clarinet, Saxophone, Flute
Melvin Ding – Bass Guitar
Eizhan Azhar – Bass Guitar
Brett Lee – Drums & Percussion
David Chin – Electric & Acoustic Guitar
Yun Xin – Auxillary Keyboards

A doctor, photographer, a couple of engineers and IT techies who play music to keep themselves sane.

JUNK is an instrumental jazz-fusion band consisting of 6 members from very diverse backgrounds – a doctor, photographer, and a group of IT engineers who play together for the love of the same genre of music. The name JUNK is derived from the words “jazz” and “funk” – although admittedly, a fair amount of different, peculiar styles often surface from time to time in the band repertoire due to the various interests and musical styles and senses of each member. The current JUNK line-up was finalized in late 2008 and the band has grown from strength to strength since. The band is a versatile outfit, capable of handling any sort of music from hard rock to contemporary ballads to blues and swing and even traditional folk rhythms; however the band’s true forte lies in jazz fusion, several of which are original compositions.

Inspired by great fusion bands such as T-Square, Casiopea, Dimension, Fourplay and The Chick Corea Elektric Band, the band enjoys – and thrives – on technical, melodic music. The members see it as a band of brothers and good friends, and are really in the band as a way to maintain sanity after a hard day at work and they hope to continue playing together, enjoying the friendship, adventure, and music well into the future.

Leave A Comment